DIY: Luxurious winter fur collar

It’s that time again. The trees are undressing, scattering leaves of maroon, yellow, and violet. November is slowly merging into a wintery December. I can hardly believe it’s been five months since I left London. My life is so different now. The summer is nothing but a hazy blur of memories- dusty bike trails, watermelon kisses, and hot yoga classes; not to mention one too many July days spent in the library working on my dissertation. As I write this, I have only one more day until I find out what my grades are for my classes and how I did on my dissertation. It has been agony waiting to find out. In comparison with American universities, the LSE is slow when it comes to releasing academic scores. At Georgetown it took a mere two to three weeks after taking exams to receive my grades. But small matter. Tomorrow I will see.

In between writing endless cover letters, digging through online job databases to find relevant open positions, and tailoring my CV to the point of madness, I have been sewing, redecorating, and crafting away. These days, being artsy is the only thing that gives me life. Job-hunting drains me to the point of exhaustion, and only by expressing myself creatively can I regain the energy I need to go on.

A few days ago, I made a fur collar.
DSCF2168

Here’s a close-up of the seam:
DSCF2171

I love this little collar. I wear it all the time now! I feel so trendy when I wear it lol. It is so indulgently soft- I wish you could feel it! Last December, when I was living in London, my then-flatmate Chiara and I visited Spitalfield Market. One of the vendors at the time was selling scraps of leather and fur for incredibly low prices. I bought three pieces of leather for £1 each! I used those scraps to make the purses in this tutorial. The fur for the collar cost just £7.
photo-6

photo-7

As you can see, it was a bit uneven, but I simply trimmed away any excess fur so that it would fit better.

I loosely followed this tutorial from the blog Harts Fabric. Her collar is meant to lay down on your shirt though, while mine is tied directly around the neck.

For the collar, I used only three materials- the fur pelt, cotton lining, and black ribbon to fasten it around my neck.
photo-4

photo-5

The directions are simple- I sandwiched the ribbon between the fur and the fabric, making sure that the right sides of the fabric touched.

In this first picture, I pinned the two fabrics together, but forgot to put the ribbon in between them:
DSCF2150

Now I’ve put the ribbon in the middle of the fabric, and sewn up one side of the collar.
DSCF2155

Here is a bit of ribbon, poking out. This will be on the inside of the collar.
DSCF2151

Finally, I sewed everything up, leaving a small hole so I could turn it right side out. I later stitched this small opening up. And voilà! A warm fuzzy, reversible collar for winter.
DSCF2172

It goes with nearly everything I own- including those amazing boots I got from the Shoe Embassy at Spitalfields back in April.
photo-3

I miss Spitalfield market so much! I wish I could go back and buy everything there. I would raid the fabric stands, buying out all the cheap leather and fur scraps ahahaha. I also would buy every purse, bag, and piece of jewelry that I liked but convinced myself I “didn’t need.”

Hope you liked this DIY feature! I’ve also made a skirt, and am working on an Advent Calendar for Christmas. Let me know if you’d like a blog on that as well!

Til next time. x

About Jul

just a girl exploring the world

2 comments

  1. Chiara

    I love it, it’s sooooo cool!!! I miss our afternoons at Spitalfield too, especially the chips from that place near Absolute Vintage!! Ps. WE MADE IT!!!! 😛

leave your comments here:

