The Meatless Life: A Food Lookbook

I’m a pescatarian masquerading as a vegetarian. I didn’t choose this undercover lifestyle– it’s a label that meat-eaters have given me. It’s like this — no one knows what a pescatarian is. If someone asks me if I eat meat, and I call myself a pescatarian outright, people stare. I think the word comes off as pretentious. So I say I’m a vegetarian that eats seafood.

I find it interesting how people judge me based on what I eat. People’s views range drastically. On one side of the spectrum, there are people like the vegan who claimed I was ‘cheating’ as a vegetarian because I like Haribo gummy candies, which have gelatin, an animal byproduct, as an ingredient. I don’t mind eating candies or jellies with gelatin in them because I’m more focused on not eating animal flesh.

However, most people fall on the other side of the spectrum: the people who eat meat, who– when they discover that I don’t eat it too — incredulously ask me “What do you eat?”

Normally when I get that question, I’m at a loss for words. Because I’m confused. I think that people mistake this pause in conversation as the time it takes me to make a mental catalog of the three things that I can eat. But the truth is, I don’t understand the question. I mean, what can’t I eat?

Let’s see…
Pescatarians can eat:
1. Carrot fries
IMG_1999
recipe: http://eleganteating.me/2013/01/13/carrot-fries/

2. Sautéed mushrooms over pan-fried salmon, dressed with homemade lemon curd
IMG_2002 IMG_2003 IMG_2005

3. Homemade bread and apple marmalade
IMG_1899 IMG_1922 IMG_1926

4. Pasta sprinkled with basil in a pesto sauce, with sweet plum tomatoes and baby shrimp. My friend Amina taught me this Italian recipe.
photo photo-1

5. Delicious sautéed kale with caramelized onions and a side of garlicky fried egg
IMG_1774

6. Greek yogurt, with berries and homemade lemon curd…sprinkled with cinnamon. Mmmm
IMG_2013

7. Shiitake mushroom fried rice
mushroom3

8. Brownies!
Book: "The Great British Bake Off" brownie batter

9. Spinach-carrot soup, spiced with ginger and turmeric
IMG_2026

10. Carrot soup with salmon…delicious
IMG_1968

11. Spinach and baby tomatoes with lightly sautéed salmon in a sweet chili sauce
IMG_1830

12. And then there’s this…
wednesday dinner

Hope you’ve enjoyed this mini-feast for the eyes! These are all simple dishes that I made this past year when I was studying at my master’s program in LSE. So, being a pescatarian/vegetarian doesn’t require any special culinary skills or pricey, rare ingredients. Also, although PETA activists may have given non-meat-eaters a bad rep, contrary to popular belief most of us don’t care if our friends and family eat meat. It’s your body, consume what you want. We respect your choice, so please respect ours. And the next time you wonder what non-meat-eaters eat, just come back to this post. We lead a varied, nutrient-packed and very delicious diet. 🙂

About Jul

just a girl exploring the world

6 comments

  1. Chiara

    Our little kitchen ❤

  2. I love pasta with shrimp and pesto! Sometimes I use kale or arugula to make the pesto instead of basil. And I know what you mean about being a pescatarian…I get weird looks all the time.

  3. Amina

    I’m a proud pescatarian too! I absolutely loved the carrot fries that you made me as an alternative to chips haha! And I’m so glad you like the pasta with pesto, shrimp and tomatoes. It is my favorite pasta of all times. Simple and delicious! I definitely have to try the carrot soup with salmon, I love both but never had them together! 🙂

    • Thanks for teaching me how to make the shrimp pesto pasta- it is sooo good and so simple to make 😛
      Definitely try the carrot soup! I have a recipe here on how to make carrot soup. basically i just added grilled salmon (leftover from another dinner) to the soup lol. it tasted delicious in the soup though- like it was meant to be.

leave your comments here:

