Salmon Shiitake Stir-fry

Hey all! I’m back with another recipe. I’ve never really been a food blogger, but I’ve realized that without my sewing machine, my jewelry-making tools, my paints or any old furniture to renovate, my creative energy has been thrown all into food. That, and decorating. Check out what I’ve done to our shared kitchen in the dorm:

kitchen retro

IMG_1758

IMG_1757
(If you’d like a coconut sugar cookies recipe, comment below!)

While here, I’ve learned that I need a creative outlet to survive. It’s just a part of who I am.

So this past week, I made a delicious stirfry-inspired dish that I found off of the blog Food Made With Love. Here’s the link to the original recipe. I made it a little bit differently, using ingredients that I could find here. I was so excited when this dish turned out well- normally whenever I try to make an Asian dish, it turns out horribly, horribly wrong. Either there’s too much soy sauce, or I don’t cook the vegetables well enough and they’re too hard, or there’s simply too many steps to keep track of. But this dish seemed so easy and the instructions were so simple to follow that it was impossible not to succeed. And I must say, I didn’t do half bad:

salmon shiitake noodles

To make this dish even simpler to prepare, you may want to do some of the steps in advance. I cooked the noodles, mushrooms, and made the sauce a day in advance. I did this on a day when I didn’t have class and still had leftovers to eat for dinner that night. That way, the next day–when did have class until 6 pm– all I had to do was cook the salmon, and then combine everything else together. But you don’t have to do that.

Alright, let’s get down to the recipe!

Salmon Shiitake Stir-fry
You will need:
1 salmon fillet, skinned
1 clove of garlic
1 pack of fresh shiitake mushrooms
1/4 cup freshly washed mangetout (also called Chinese snowpeas)
180g linguine (about a small handful- the original recipe calls for soba, but I couldn’t find that)
2 tbs coconut oil

For the sauce, I used:
a little over 1/3 cup water
1/3 cup light soy sauce
3 tsp chili pepper paste
2 tbs brown sugar

1. Make the sauce. This is the easy part. Stir all the ingredients together until the sugar has completely dissolved. Set aside. I used a chili pepper paste that I had bought prior at the Saturday food market near where I live (it’s in the “Borough olives” container). If you want to stay true to the original recipe, use 3 tsp of gochujang. I didn’t know where to look for that, so I stuck with what I had on hand.
IMG_1725

IMG_1726

2. Wash, slice, and dice your shiitake mushrooms and the garlic clove.
IMG_1716

IMG_1718

IMG_1719

3. Add a tablespoon of coconut oil into the pan. Add the sliced garlic clove into the pan and cook until fragrant and slightly golden brown. Then, add the shiitake mushroom slices.
IMG_1721

IMG_1722

4. Cook down until they’re tender and not so “raw.” This takes about 5-7 minutes.
IMG_1723

5. Take the mushrooms off the heat and set aside. Prepare the linguine according to package instructions.
linguine in boiling water

Strain and set aside.
At this point, I packed everything away into containers and put it in my fridge until the next day. But if you’re up for doing the whole recipe all in one go, move on directly to step #6!

6. Cut the salmon up into cubes. Add a tablespoon of coconut oil into a frying pan, and cook the salmon on medium-high to high heat.
IMG_1735

IMG_1737

I like my salmon to be a bit brown on the outside when I fry it. When it’s too pale, I can never be sure if it’s fully cooked through to the inside.

7. When your salmon cubes are fully cooked, add the shiitake mushrooms to the pan. Then, add half the sauce that you made. It’s important that you add half, not all. Soy sauce is a tricky thing. You only want to add a little at a time when you’re using it.
IMG_1739

IMG_1740

8. Allow the mix to simmer for 10 minutes on low heat. (If you prepared the noodles the night before and stored them in the fridge, you may want to heat them up again in a pan on the stove at this time.)

9. Now, tip your delicious sauce into the noodles!
IMG_1742

IMG_1743

Stir it all in, garnish with Chinese snowpeas and enjoy! 🙂

IMG_1747

IMG_1745

yummy!

If you desire more sauce, add it into the dish little by little. I found that I didn’t need to use all the sauce at once. When I was eating the left overs the next day, the extra sauce came in handy to drizzle on the noodles before I popped them in the microwave.

Next day’s leftovers:
DSCF1457

I hope you liked this post. Thanks for reading!

About Jul

just a girl exploring the world

3 comments

  1. hi there! (: Thanks for linking my post and I must say your version looks yum! hehe Glad my recipe was of some help to you! and I love what you did to the kitchen! hehe Keep cooking up a storm! x

leave your comments here:

