(Re)inception

We’re going to ignore the fact that I haven’t written in over 6 months, and I’m going to just jump right in here. I’m on summer holiday, and I’ve finally graduated from university! It’s such a relief. My diploma is framed downstairs above the piano, my cap and gown is in my closet, and my future is patiently waiting ahead of me. I’m going to teach abroad for a year, and then I plan to do research. I’m applying for the Fulbright, an ambitious goal, but it’s the only grant that I’m aware of that will let me study the material that I wrote my senior thesis on and provide me with the financial means to do so.

I’d like to say what I’m writing my Fulbright on, I really would, but it’s probably not a good idea to publish my uncopywrited labor of love on the Internet. In fact, it would be stupid. I have a friend who posted his graduate admissions essay on his blog so his friends could read it and (in my opinion) comment on how brilliant it was. Not smart. How does he know that one of them won’t pinch a few sentences out of his essay and use it for their own purposes? He doesn’t. In the vast void of cyberworld, security does not exist.

I don’t really have a back up plan (yet) of what I will do if I don’t get the Fulbright, but it’s likely that I will get a job. I’d like to do my masters sometime in the next 5 years, but to be honest I don’t really have the money for that right now. I am swamped with student loans. Swamped. I may actually have to defer them while I’m teaching, because I am not getting paid much.

Til next time then.

About Jul

just a girl exploring the world

leave your comments here:

