Lil Wayne: Misogynist or Misunderstood? Part I

this post is rated PG13….all you youngins keep out! lol (for real though)
Part I: Misogynist
Lil Wayne, Lil Wayne…I have always had a jam/hate relationship with this artist. What I mean is, though I couldn’t stand his lyrics, I was too seduced by the beats, his flow, and his rapper swag to do anything more than wrinkle my nose at the graphic bits of his songs. Other than that, I loved dancing to his music at the club as much as any other girl. He was cool, he was (sort of) cute (well, his accent was anyway lol).

I didn’t really start considering boycotting his music until I heard his song “Lollipop.” Now, oral sex has been sung about before. But it’s usually just alluded to, as in “Les Sucettes” (“The Lollipops”), a 1966 French song written by Serge Gainsbourg who exploited the innocence of 18-year-old France Gall. (Gall at the time could not fathom why people got such a kick out of her singing about lollipops.)

When oral sex is expressly brought up, at most a one-liner is sung, as in Mase’s “Feel So Good” (Now I be the cat that be hard to meet/Gettin h–d from girls/That used to hardly speak) and Khia’s “My Neck, My Back” (Lick my p–y and my cr–k). But never has the subject been so explicitly exposed in a song–and never has an entire mainstream hip-hop song been so pointedly dedicated to it (or at least not in my lifetime lol).

When the song first came out, I was disgusted by it. However, after a few weaks of hearing it on the radio, I got used to it. Still, whenever I started absentmindedly singing it to myself, I felt like I was betraying a part of me. I felt like most boys who listened to this song saw it as confirmation that girls had nothing better to do than s-ck their cock off. Yet I kept singing it. I don’t know if this is proof that I have been so brainwashed by society that I accept to listen to (eat/drink/do, etc) what I know is wrong or whatever. All I know is whenever that song comes on, I cringe–then almost automatically start singing along.

Then “We Like Her Too” came out. Livid probably best describes my first reaction to that song. I was supremely pissed off. First of all, I had turned on the radio to hear what new music was popular in America since I had just come back from France. I was not expecting “I wish I could f–k every girl in the world” to come blaring out of my stereo. Then I heard the lyric about Miley Cyrus–a child for God’s sakes–and I felt sick to my stomach. What gave these men any right to be rapping about a 15-year-old girl like that? It was bad enough that they had no respect for women aged 18 and over, now these grown men were leering at minors like, “When these girls bumping and grinding in the music video are old and dry (around approximately age 29) you’re next.”

The next time the song came on the radio (after that awful “LOL smiley face” song. What the hell. A song about a text?), I was ready for it with a pen and paper.

Long-haired thick redbone.

See, this right here is the reason why so many African-American and African-Canadian women have a complex. Black men want to complain about their women wearing weave and using bleaching creams when so many of them are the very ones making the demand for girls with silky long hair and light skin. This lyric right here says so much with so little. I know that in isolation, this lyric seems just to be presenting Lil Wayne’s personal preference for long-haired, light-skinned girls, but so many women (and men) will see this line as a confirmation that what they have–afro-textured hair and a range of skin-tones from butternut to chocolate–is unattractive and unwanted. This mentality comes from the North American history of slavery and sharecropping.

Dark skin and kinky hair is beautiful; they should be embraced, not treated as if it were some disease to be “fixed”. Let me be clear: I am not knocking any women who choose to wear their hair straight, relaxed, or weaved up because of a personal decision; however, if she feels that she cannot be her true self and embrace her natural beauty because of outward societal pressures, then there is a problem.

There was also another line just like this one: “Caramel skin, long hair, thick ass“. What about the rest of the black female population that has kinky-curly hair, dark skin, and may or may not have a fat ass? Once again, I’m not trying to say that a man can’t have a preference when choosing women, but so many songs before this have spit the same lyrics of what a girl’s profile “should” look like. Moreover, this very song claims that “I don’t discriminate, no… not at all” when not a single word was mentioned about what so many black women actually look like.

Butterpecan Puerto Rican.

Girls are cookies. Pick your flavor. This kind of categorizing drives me crazy. It’s like when people say “Blondes have more fun” or “Brazilian girls are all sexy/prostitutes.” I know a few boring, blonde girls (quite a few ugly ones as well), and I’m friends with non-hooker Brazilians. While in an airport in the UK, my Brazilian friend was asked by the customs agent “Who are you staying with during your time in the UK?” When she replied, “A friend”, the customs agent asked her sternly “Are you going to sleep with him?” Seriously??? What gives anyone the right to ask such a question? I don’t believe that was a legitimate question for any national security bullshit nonsense, just as I don’t believe that women should be ranked as how good they are in bed, or by their “exotic” factor.

I exchange V cards with the retards.

Sigh…….Yes, they really got as low as to rapping about raping mentally-handicapped women. Because that is what it would be, since a mentally-disabled person cannot consciously give consent.

Frankly, I found the song to be disturbing. To be fair, Lil Wayne is not the only one singing the song–there are a few other “artists”: Drake, Jae Millz, Gudda Gudda, Mack Maine. I don’t know if all of these men were in the studio together producing this song (and thus hearing each other’s lyrics) or did it individually. Whatever may be the case, no one was twisting their arm to sing these lyrics and they did it with pride. So I’m not going to go picking out whose part was the worst and who should get more of the blame. Basically, the message of this entire song was that girls are walking v*ginas (as seen by the lyric I wish I could f–k every girl in the world). To these men, a woman is nothing more than a dimepiece to rock on your arm who opens her legs everytime you askuntil you can find someone even more beautiful, with longer weave–uh, I mean, hair–and less self-esteem.

So now that I’ve ranted out my brains to my heart’s content, a confession: I do like the beat of the song. Yes. Someone needs to research hip-hop beats for subliminal messaging (seriously). There must be some kind of “feel good” or “listen and repeat” hidden aural sound waves flashing through these songs (lol) because even while writing down the heinous lyrics I found myself mumbling “we like her too…” But this time I will not be seduced like I was before with “Lollipop” (haha). I will stay firm.

Well, we’ll see what happens once I get to the club.

Part II coming later this week.

About Jul

just a girl exploring the world

One comment

  1. Carla

    [ß∫Ë\iÖî5ktoUî‡π#¿Q)O∫†XÀ˛6ˉÍfiäó´Gr4¡≤¶ÓRÂF$≠í2|Í‚Nu=_Yí¢†Åcp˘ƒêÓ?î‹∂ëX1C»ÜV∑fiK◊Rɯ_j¬ó{•UöP
    ÿå–AÔàÅxeŒT>ãÉ d<)huVó"C{Ã*pqÃó¥F˛ª};q∑tÂJ%U›wØÂ@“(™'¿ÿ≤Âî±ÍÏQ)qΩàö(„p≥BFÚ‚ä—8Œ1ja;é'8™&LVıbÜ>¥:’8 ƒΩngLt√~6|¶wfi];–™øïr8â+Ü∆>ë∏°Åt)›û∑≈DX∑|¢‹çùàãºÀqAú,LóâötıÎæg/¡•Ô”`
    ⁄SÜ-Uë∫ñT∑>îc$âã[ß∫Ë\iÖî5ktoUî‡π#¿Q)O∫†XÀ˛6ˉÍfiäó´Gr4¡≤¶ÓRÂF$≠í2|Í‚Nu=_Yí¢†Åcp˘ƒêÓ?î‹∂ëX1C»ÜV∑fiK◊Rɯ_j¬ó{•UöP
    ÿå–AÔàÅxeŒT>ãÉ d<)huVó"C{Ã*pqÃó¥F˛ª};q∑tÂJ%U›wØÂ@“(™'¿ÿ≤Âî±ÍÏQ)qΩàö(„p≥BFÚ‚ä—8Œ1ja;é'8™&LVıbÜ>¥:’8 ƒΩngLt√~6|¶wfi];–™øïr8â+Ü∆>ë∏°Åt)›û∑≈DX∑|¢‹çùàãºÀqAú,LóâötıÎæg/¡•Ô”`
    ⁄SÜ-Uë∫ñT∑>îc$âã[ß∫Ë\iÖî5ktoUî‡π#¿Q)O∫†XÀ˛6ˉÍfiäó´Gr4¡≤¶ÓRÂF$≠í2|Í‚Nu=_Yí¢†Åcp˘ƒêÓ?î‹∂ëX1C»ÜV∑fiK◊Rɯ_j¬ó{•UöP
    ÿå–AÔàÅxeŒT>ãÉ d<)huVó"C{Ã*pqÃó¥F˛ª};q∑tÂJ%U›wØÂ@“(™'¿ÿ≤Âî±ÍÏQ)qΩàö(„p≥BFÚ‚ä—8Œ1ja;é'8™&LVıbÜ>¥:’8 ƒΩngLt√~6|¶wfi];–™øïr8â+Ü∆>ë∏°Åt)›û∑≈DX∑|¢‹çùàãºÀqAú,LóâötıÎæg/¡•Ô”`
    ⁄SÜ-Uë∫ñT∑>îc$âã[ß∫Ë\iÖî5ktoUî‡π#¿Q)O∫†XÀ˛6ˉÍfiäó´Gr4¡≤¶ÓRÂF$≠í2|Í‚Nu=_Yí¢†Åcp˘ƒêÓ?î‹∂ëX1C»ÜV∑fiK◊Rɯ_j¬ó{•UöP
    ÿå–AÔàÅxeŒT>ãÉ d<)huVó"C{Ã*pqÃó¥F˛ª};q∑tÂJ%U›wØÂ@“(™'¿ÿ≤Âî±ÍÏQ)qΩàö(„p≥BFÚ‚ä—8Œ1ja;é'8™&LVıbÜ>¥:’8 ƒΩngLt√~6|¶wfi];–™øïr8â+Ü∆>ë∏°Åt)›û∑≈DX∑|¢‹çùàãºÀqAú,LóâötıÎæg/¡•Ô”`
    ⁄SÜ-Uë∫ñT∑>îc$âã

leave your comments here:

